Ashtavakra Gita

Ashtavakra Gita or the Song of Ashtavakra is a classical Advaita Vedanta scripture.

It is a dialogue between Ashtavakra and Janaka (king of Mithila) on the nature of soul, reality and bondage.

Ashtavakra Gita insists on the complete unreality of external world and absolute oneness of existence. It offers a radical version of non-dualistic philosophy. It does not mention any morality or duties, and therefore is seen by commentators as ‘godless’. It also dismisses names and forms as unreal and a sign of ignorance.


1. Saksi

Vision of the Self as the All-pervading Witness

2. Ascaryam

Marvel of the Infinite Self Beyond Nature

3. Atmadvaita

Self in All and All in the Self

4. Sarvamatma

Knower and the Non-knower of the Self

5. Laya

Stages of Dissolution of Consciousness

6. Prakrteh Parah

Irrelevance of Dissolution of Consciousness

7. Santa

Tranquil and Boundless Ocean of the Self

8. Moksa

Bondage and Freedom

9. Nirveda


10. Vairagya


11. Cidrupa

Self as Pure and Radiant Intelligence

12. Svabhava

Ascent of Contemplation

13. Yathasukham

Transcendent Bliss

14. Isvara

Natural Dissolution of the Mind

15. Tattvam

Unborn Self or Brahman

16. Svasthya

Self-Abidance through Obliteration of the World

17. Kaivalya

Absolute Aloneness of the Self

18. Jivanmukti

Way and Goal of Natural Samadhi

19. Svamahima

Majesty of the Self

20. Akincanabhava

Transcendence of the Self